I was looking at my old post, which I’m not sure if it’s still up, and it’s now deleted because the comment was removed, even though I haven’t seen it since I posted it.
It looks like the comment got deleted because it wasn’t an “important” or “important enough” comment.
Now, my post is gone and the comments of the users who are following me have been deleted too.
What’s going on?
This happens because there are too many users, and not enough users.
The problem is that a lot of the people that have posted comments have had too many friends who are also using the platform, so the comment is deleted more often than if it was a one-off.
There are three main problems here.
First, it’s very hard to tell who deleted the comment.
Sometimes the comment will get deleted by the same person a couple of times and then a few people will see it, but most users don’t have enough time to do the necessary checks.
That means it’s not clear who deleted it, or even if it has been deleted, because there’s too many people.
Second, deleting comments can be hard to do because it’s really difficult to get an idea of who deleted them, especially if the person that deleted them didn’t even reply to the comment, or just didn’t reply.
This means that if you’re a friend of a person who has deleted your comment, you may get confused.
And third, deleting a comment can be harder to track down than a screenshot.
If a person deleted your post and deleted a screenshot, you’d be surprised to find that the screenshot was taken days after it was deleted, which means it might be a new screenshot or not.
It’s also possible that people who have deleted comments from Hacker News may have deleted them from the Hacker News profile pages, or the HackerNews site itself.
We will probably never know.
I know I deleted my comment from the day I posted my post about how much I liked children.
But that doesn’t mean I won’t be deleting comments from the site again in the future.
[Image via Shutterstock]